Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Fête des Mères

Monday, May. 14, 2007
8:34 a.m.
I can’t believe I forgot to update yesterday. Mea culpa! So, here she be, a quick report and photo essay, reprinted from elsewhere (ahem):

Howdy folks. I’m a mom. Yup, yup. I have given birth, twice in fact, and have the bestest children in the whole wide world. I do, yes I do. The giving birth part wasn’t fun, but nobody really wants to hear about that, so I won’t tell it here. But the fruits of my loins are now at an age where they don’t need to rely upon their other parental unit (whose contribution was truly microscopic) to do Mother’s Day.

In the past, of course, they needed their dad for this kind of thing, and they had a lot of fun. I remember being served breakfast in bed, not a great way to eat breakfast, believe me, with toothpicks and little labels identifying all the different components (banana, toast, etc., although they admitted that it was hard to get the label to stay in the orange juice without getting all wet), being taken out to dinner, various Mother’s Day things like that. But yesterday, my daughter asked if she could take me out to lunch today, and my son wanted to make supper. Hey, this is great!

So today I walked with my kids into town (my son got a free lunch, too--his sister is very generous) and I brought my camera and took pictures of burgeoning spring things along the way:

Of course, I must include a photo of my Mother’s Day mums, a tradition:

Supper was delicious, spinach tagliatele with a cheese sauce, salad and lemon meringue pie:

Ah, good times.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>