Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

More white shit. Winter: 1 Humans: 0

Friday, Feb. 11, 2005
2:29 p.m.
I have recently returned from a lovely lunch with Vlad over Indian buffet at our favourite restaurant. We got there before the place filled up, filling our own plates with the most delicious food. Today they were serving spiced squash. It was fantastic. Of course, whenever Vlad and I get together, we have to badmouth our colleagues: the Duke and the Duchess (who used to be our friends) and the reasons for their estrangement from us. As we were thus talking, who should enter the restaurant, but the very parties of whom we were speaking. Our erstwhile friends at least greeted us in a friendly fashion, while the other two did not even acknowledge our presence. We have both decided that the Duke, at least, realizes that he made a very bad mistake, but he is the kind of person who would never admit to it, and having made his bed, is now lying in it, no matter how uncomfortable it may be. I think that the Duchess is still oblivious, but then she doesn�t see these people every day, as her husband does, so she is not aware of their gross behavioural faux pas, collegial or otherwise, and her husband, being the diplomat he imagines himself to be, would not inform her.

I was going to try to answer dandlioneyes�s rhetorical query of yesterday today, but I am too full of curried potatoes and ice cream with mango sauce to come up with an answer. I shall cogitate more before committing my opinions to the keyboard.

In the meantime, we were totally deluged with snow. Since L�ville became merged with the City of Sh�brooke, our snow removal service has gone downhill. Add to that that it was a planning day and the school buses weren�t moving, the plows never came into our neighbourhood until after most people had already left for work, floundering through the drifts. Thank heaven for Subaru all-wheel drive. I don�t know how Hubby managed with the Volvo, but he was gone when I got back, the plow having finally arrived and made an apparently unpassable barrier to the snow-filled driveway (the Outback just drove right through it; I love this car!).

It was still snowing when I left this morning, but coming out of the restaurant we were greeted with sunshine. I drove into the city to buy coffee, and I am now enjoying the quality of the light in the attic here. We are supposed to go back to utmost dreariness tomorrow, so I shall take advantage of this brief brightness while I can.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>