Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I hate copying.

Saturday, Feb. 12, 2005
12:52 p.m.
I was going to answer dandlioneyes� query about how women with children manage their careers and raise their offspring, but harri3tspy did such a good job of it yesterday, and her story is similar enough to mine that I really feel my own addition would be redundant. Sorry, dandlioneyes.

My mother has been laying the guilt trip on us, that we never visit, that she never sees us for very long when we do visit. This is all true. I did offer to find her accommodation at the Man0ir St. Francis so that she could be near me and I could see her frequently, but she refused to leave her beloved Toronto and her son. When I talk to her on the phone she is full of praise for my brother (the brother who neither speaks to nor of me) but she only sees him once a week. Now that her vision is going, it is probably best that she remain in familiar surroundings, but I did make that offer, lest we forget.

When we were last in Ontario, it�s true that we spent more time with Hubby�s family, but then my elder brother was visiting from Israel with his family, and there was nowhere to stay at my mom�s. I think her memory is starting to fade on her and she has forgotten that salient fact. But the matter remains that she is lonely, bored, and wishes we were around more. I don�t know what to do. Little Princess also feels rather �guilted� by this, so I have suggested to her that next month, after my NYC trip, we take the train for a weekend visit to Savta (that�s grandmother in Hebrew, what my kids call my mom). I hope that helps a bit.

It was sunny this morning for a couple of hours, but now we are experiencing gray skies and more flurries. Why must winter last so long?

The Dante's Inferno Test has banished you to the Sixth Level of Hell - The City of Dis!
Here is how you matched up against all the levels:

LevelScore
Purgatory (Repenting Believers)Very Low
Level 1 - Limbo (Virtuous Non-Believers)Moderate
Level 2 (Lustful)High
Level 3 (Gluttonous)Moderate
Level 4 (Prodigal and Avaricious)Very Low
Level 5 (Wrathful and Gloomy)Low
Level 6 - The City of Dis (Heretics)Very High
Level 7 (Violent)Moderate
Level 8- the Malebolge (Fraudulent, Malicious, Panderers)Moderate
Level 9 - Cocytus (Treacherous)Low

Take the Dante's Inferno Hell Test

|

<~~~ * ~~~>