Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The name is Cicer0, Marcus TuIIius Cicer0

Monday, Dec. 11, 2006
11:22 a.m.
The culmination of a day spent entirely in my pyjamas and bathrobe at the computer completing the first part of my Latin assignment was to actually get dressed and join my daughter and her friends to see the late show of the new 007 movie. My husband warned me that the violence was a lot more real than in the previous films, and he was right, but there wasn’t as much of it either, and it was never gratuitous. Also, Little Princess’ BF said that the chase scene at the beginning, over the rooftops and up the crane and all over the construction site, was the best he had ever seen in any movie. I have to agree. It was pretty darn cool. The delineation of B0nd’s character is more along the lines of the literary creation, as well. I have never yet read any of the novels by Ian FIeming, but the others in my family have, and this is their assessment. He does get hurt, he does make bad judgements, he’s often a brute, and he’s not the suave sexaholic that other actors portrayed him as. I’m looking forward to more of the same.

As for my Latin, paragraphs one to twenty of the first CataIinarian speech by Cicer0 have been retyped in smoother English, and today I must begin translating the rest of it. I figure if I do two paragraphs a day (which is about what we averaged per class) I will have plenty of time. I know I should aim for more. It’s just that I’m so easily distracted. Yesterday’s task was necessarily done at the computer, which meant that I was logged into instant messsenger programs and checking DiaryIand updates constantly, and playing the odd game of Shanghai and spider solitaire. It would have taken a lot less time if I could only have stuck to the matter at hand. Fortunately (or not, depending on how you look at it), this next bit is done at the kitchen table with a pencil, paper and the text. The only danger there is that I’ll be constantly raiding the pantry and refrigerator.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>