Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Wherein I address Harri3tspy�s dilemma

Thursday, Aug. 11, 2005
1:03 p.m.
When I announced to my then boyfriend at the age of 20 or so that I had decided my life�s goal was to raise children to be better people than what currently walked the face of the earth, he felt that I was selling out to the wife/mother/housekeeper ideal of the 1950s. Needless to say, we broke up when I left to go to university because I had discovered that I had a passion for choral singing, and one choral conductor in particular.

Before going to Western, I had had two sexual relationships, each lasting for two years. Before I left Western I had had more partners than I could count taking off both shoes and socks. During that time I experienced two broken condoms, one which necessitated a trip to the clinic for a morning-after pill (and I agree with saucy99 that it was not a pleasant experience), and the other a wait-and-see approach. I was fully prepared for the fact that I might be pregnant (I wasn�t, thankfully) and had it all worked out that I would have the baby over Christmas break, give it up for adoption, and continue back to school in January. For me, at that time, abortion was not an option. I was already 23, so it wasn�t as though I were a naive teenager. (After I got my period, I went back on the Pill so as to avoid these future scares.)

More recently, however, as my periods have become increasingly erratic, and even though I had a tubal ligation ten years ago, I have resorted twice to pregnancy tests (when my menses were almost two months apart) because an implantation is likely to be ectopic, and at age 48 I am not about to have another child. I would have no qualms whatsoever about terminating such a pregnancy.

I have always felt that abortion is not a viable form of birth control. There are other, more effective and less disruptive means for preventing pregnancy that work when used according to package directions. Not only that, but every time I had sex, even if it was a one-night stand (and there were plenty of those), I always knew that pregnancy was a possibility. After all, that�s what sex in the animal kingdom is all about: procreation.

When I was pregnant with my second child, my doctor wanted me to have an ultrasound. I had had one with my first only to determine date of delivery since my periods were not regular when I conceived, and I didn�t see the point in having one now when I knew to the minute when Buddy Boy had come into being. My doctor said that if there were birth defects, it would not be too late to abort. At that moment, I knew that I didn�t want to have an ultrasound. In other words, I didn�t want to be in a position where I would even have to consider abortion. I already loved this baby and would not terminate its development. If he was born with problems, well, I would cross that bridge when I got to it.

However, I have always felt that there were times when abortion was totally called for, as in the case of rape, incest, or the mother being too young to carry and deliver a child safely. I have never equated abortion with �murder�. On the other hand, I know that women are going to have abortions regardless of what I think personally, and for that reason alone it is necessary that they have proper places to have them, performed by licensed practitioners, and that they are not endangering their health. Let us not ever go back to the days when abortions were performed by quacks in back alleys under questionable hygienic conditions.

As for my own family and the spacing of my kids, I had cesarian sections and was told by my doctor to wait at least two years between deliveries. As it turned out, I waited three, which was perfect. The older child was ready to start nursery school when I was preoccupied with the younger. They have grown up great friends and I really do believe that I have raised a couple of people who are an improvement on what came before (of course, this is their mother talking). When it came to the question of �How could I possibly love the second child as much as the first?�, it turned out to be moot. I have discovered that love is like mother�s milk, the more you give, the more you have.

And here ends the lesson.


from ashahands :

Hey elgan, Once again your words ring so true, make so much sense. I agree wholeheartedly with your views on abortion. And it is apparent from your words what an amazing mother you surely are. Your kids sound fantastic. Thank you for sharing all you do, it means so much to all of us who keep up with your life. Have a fab weekend!

from harri3tspy :

I�ve gotten a little behind with my reading and replying. Thanks so much to your response to my entry. As always, an entry that is both personal and thoughtful!

from ladybug-red :

I meant to tell you that I enjoyed your entry yesterday. Thanks for sharing.

from coldandgray :

I appreciate your �mother's love� entry, very nice.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>