Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I am a genius on tests, and an idiot in life.

Thursday, Apr. 15, 2004
8:49 p.m.
As mentioned earlier, I am not in the habit of answering quizzes and surveys, but every-so-often (and it seems to be quite a bit recently) one comes along that piques my interest. I just tried an I.Q. test which gave me the following result:

The Classic IQ Test

Congratulations, Elgan!

Your IQ score is 129.

This number is based on a scientific formula that compares how many questions you answered correctly on the Classic IQ Test relative to others.

Your Intellectual Type is Insightful Linguist. This means you are highly intelligent and have the natural fluency of a writer and the visual and spatial strengths of an artist. Those skills contribute to your creative and expressive mind.

Interesting. That�s exactly what I wanted to hear about myself. What if the final score was something depressingly low and the comments were: �You are a moron with absolutely no redeeming features or qualities. Go to the nearest parapet (provided you can figure out what that means) and jump off, thus ending your and all your acquaintances� misery.� I know there are tests out there that will tell you exactly that. I once took a longevity test, which told me I would live to be 84. Then I took a different one which said I would die in four years. Someone is pulling my leg!

While waiting for my union rep to give me a list of all the part-time music tutors and profs, I had a most enjoyable chat with the blond soprano, who is suffering from some kind of allergic reaction on her face and upper chest. She really shouldn�t have been wearing a V-neck T-shirt. She had no idea what caused it, except perhaps the pastry her grandmother had sent a couple of days ago, which was super rich in eggs and she didn�t know what seasonings. Hmmmm� Anyway, she informed me that she and her husband of almost one year are going to be taking their delayed honeymoon next month: six weeks in Europe, divided between England, France and Italy. Sounds nice. She was outlining all their planned activities for the summer, and in my mind I was thinking �and moving�, but didn�t say a word. Oh no, not I. I was all sweetness and light, reminiscing about our experiences driving on the �wrong� side of the road in England, or arriving at 8 o�clock in the morning at Charles de Gaulle airport in Paris, dead tired, and driving to Chartres in a standard transmission car, running red lights and almost driving down a flight of stairs. Oh yes. We�ve had lots of fun on our travels.

I just heard the boys cheering in the basement. Someone must have scored. I have no interest whatsoever in hockey (sorry pantasy) and don�t get all excited about it the way my menfolk do. Hubby only watches it during playoffs anyway, and Buddy Boy only watches with his dad. We�re not a particularly team-sports family.

But sorry, we were talking about the blond soprano. Her husband is so anal he has to plan everything out to the last minute and wants to spend as much time as possible in museums, art galleries, churches, etc., and the Duchess arrived and joined in the conversation saying that they were going to overload in no time. I overloaded on one weekend in New York visiting art galleries and museums. It got to the point that I couldn�t look at another C�zanne (did I say that?) or Inca artifact without going blind.

What�s weird is that the whole time I was sitting talking amicably with the blond soprano, I wished I weren�t. I was only there to get the part-timer list from my rep, and he was late, and I was forced to wait for him. At once I was trying to be pleasant but not give too much away (which is next to impossible for me, being the Chatty Cathy I am), seem personable while thinking �You bitch!� in my mind, and just wishing that DW would get there so I could leave. This is the girl I spent so much time and energy trying to make comfortable upon her arrival here, the one I thought could be a friend, and who ended up betraying me, stealing my best student and turning my other students against me. This is how she repaid my kindness and attention. And yet, after all that, I have never said anything to her that in any way would indicate that I even knew of her perfidy, much less held it against her. Maybe that�s where I made my mistake. But I did not want to appear to be the immature power monger that she made herself out to be. No no no, not me.

I am informed by a source very close to me that among those ten applications are some real diamonds. There is a very good chance that all of this will pass and will be no more than a bad dream.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>