Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I feel so drained!

Friday, Apr. 16, 2004
8:06 a.m.
It�s so early in the morning that my kiddoes haven�t even left for school yet. But something happened which is necessary to record. Little Princess was performing her toilette upstairs and I was at the kitchen table attempting the New York Time�s Friday crossword puzzle (boo, hiss), when I heard her calling me in a rather pitiful voice, �Mom!� �What's the matter?� I queried, and she replied, just as plaintively, �I just lost my contact lens down the drain!�

This, my friends, is every contact-lens wearer�s nightmare. I personally have never suffered this particular scenario, although I have lost my lens in other weird places and recovered it forthwith (like the time it fell on the ground, the dirty ground, outside the Faculty of Music at U of T one summer-school session a long, long time ago). She said that very little water had actually followed it down the drain, which is a good thing, so I put a bucket under the pipe and opened the trap. Lucky, lucky girl! Along with a disgusting-looking wad of hair, out flowed her lens.

There is the still unanswered question as to why the drain was not covered (�But I thought it was!�) and why my genius, astrophysicist-in-training daughter had no idea on how to proceed on her own. Have I really raised such a helpless, dependent person? Do you realize that a few months ago she was talking about living with her BF next year? She can�t look after herself; how could she live with a 17-year-old? Oy. Anyway, that course of events has been averted (phew) but I�m sure there will be other hurdles to leap as we gently push her out of the nest (the key word here is �gently�).

|

<~~~ * ~~~>