Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I like cantaloupe. Doesn�t everyone?

Thursday, Apr. 8, 2004
7:15 p.m.
Apologies first off for an html error in my last entry. I screwed up the link and cut out a whole sentence of text. Usually I proofread my entry right after posting, especially when I�ve included links to other sites, but this time I was in a hurry to get from the office to the noon-hour concert (more on that in a moment) and didn�t follow my usual course of action. Serves me right. The error has now been duly corrected, so check it out.

The concert was pretty good, when you consider that we are not a music school, per se, but a liberal arts university and our music students would often not be accepted to music faculties like McGill or U of T. Vlad�s piano student played the first movement of a Schumann quintet with the visitors, and did a really fine job. I was so sleepy though that I had a hard time concentrating. I never actually dozed off, but the temptation was great.

Afterwards we adjourned to the dining hall for lunch. Upon phoning Shalimar, Hubby was informed that they had run out of food, so the buffet was out, unfortunately. Dewey�s is okay, especially their soup and salad bar, so we did that instead. Then our visitors left, I went off to teach my very last lesson of the term, goodbyes were said, hugs and kisses exchanged, and I hope we get to go see them this summer.

The new collective agreement was ratified today by a very large majority and was celebrated with champagne all round. That was nice. Since the strike I feel more involved at the university than I did before, and actually want to go to meetings, whereas I couldn�t be bothered in the past.

The other news is that our department has been granted its third position, and a job search must commence. The fellow who has been here for the past two years on a sessional contract thinks he�s a shoe-in, and there are people who would like that to be the case. Others beg to differ, however, as they have seen sides of him, facets of his character, that do not bode well for a long-term relationship. A tenure-track appointment does not immediately confer permanence, but six years is a long time to work side-by-side with someone who is rude and immature, and displays prejudices and favouritism. We really must have a national search, but we only received ten applications for the position when it was advertised as �subject to senate approval�. Some people would like to wait and advertise for the following year so we can get more of a selection. Other persons do not. So we have an interesting situation.

After the faculty council meeting I attended the opening of the graduating fine arts students show at Centennial Theatre lobby. There were some very interesting pieces, as well as a nice spread of fruit, cheese, pat� and bread. The place was packed with students and profs from all disciplines. Very successful.

I was thinking about going to see Something�s Gotta Give, which is playing at Centennial Theatre tonight, but I think I had better stay in and go to bed at 9:30 p.m. if I know what�s good for me. And I do.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>