Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It�s all above board, okay?

Sunday, Jan. 4, 2004
7:01 p.m.
My daughter assures me with enormous puppy-dog eyes that there is absolutely nothing happening between her and Chris which is beyond the bounds of decency in any way. She is so desperately in love with her boyfriend that I don�t see how she could even bring herself to do anything with another guy. But, be that as it may, she still hangs out with him a lot, and he doesn�t seem averse to having a purely platonic relationship with her. Boyfriend arrives home from his three weeks in England on Saturday, and you can bet that they�ll be getting together as soon as humanly (and automotively) possible. So I won�t worry about it any more, and neither should anyone else.

We girls went to Costco this afternoon, and it was one hopping place. The parking lot was packed to the gills and the lineups at the checkouts were lengthy. Unfortunately there weren�t many free samples being doled out, or maybe it was fortunate. Before Christmas there are all sorts of goodies being offered up, mostly biscuits and chocolates (mmmm�chocolate�). But now it�s back to the usual chicken pot pies and all-dressed pizzas. Not my cup of tea.

But we were both really, really sleepy, and yawning all over the store. On the drive home, baby doll fell asleep, or at least dozed, and I had to try to remain alert for the 15-minute schlep. Then, to add insult to injury, when we got to the lights in L�ville we had to wait for a train to finish going by, a biggie. I almost fell asleep at that point. It seems as though there has been a train (or two) in every town I�ve lived in in Canada since leaving my parents: London, Brandon, Waterloo, and now here. There wasn�t one that I can remember in Ann Arbor, at least not one that stopped traffic for 10 minutes at a time.

Once home we had to unload the car and put groceries away, and I also spread de-icer on the driveway which is like a skating rink. The man had to use the grip thingies to get the Volvo out of the driveway and then nearly killed himself just walking from the car to the garage. Not fun to fall on the ice. Anyway, he spread more stuff on it when he got home, and hopefully it will be eroded enough that it won�t be so hazardous tomorrow. And that was basically my day.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>