Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I am not getting sick!

Tuesday, Nov. 18, 2003
10:42 p.m.
Okay, what is the worst thing that could happen now four days before my recital? You got it, a cold. And why do I feel a slight burning sensation at the back of my throat, and the telltale wetness of post-nasal drip? Why do I have to be an affectionate mother and not stay away from my daughter, who shares all her viral acquisitions with me? Oy vey, this is just what I need�NOT!

Hubby and I went to the hall, which he had duly booked for tonight, only to find that the Crooks had booked it prior to us. Great. So we ran through the programme in the classroom, with Hubby�s Mexican guitar student as our audience. He was very appreciative. Unfortunately, the classroom is one large echo chamber, and there are all sorts of noises coming out of the walls and ceiling, and it was very difficult for us to hear ourselves and each other. We definitely get the hall Thursday night for our dress, or else!

On other fronts, the daytime temperature seems to be rising. I know, because I spent almost 20 minutes this morning driving around campus looking for a parking spot, and then having to park out by the tennis courts, which is a five-minute (at least) walk to the music department. I may as well have walked from home. It would have taken less time. I found out that my weird student David is into strategic board war games, like Axis and Allies, and since my son is quite the fan, I thought they might enjoy playing together.

Since I don�t want to get sick, and have already dosed myself with echinacea to avert this possibility, I think the next think on the agenda is a good night�s sleep (please Guitarzan, don�t practise tonight!) after downing a hot lemon beverage liberally laced with Canadian whiskey.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>