Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Ouch my back hurts

Thursday, Oct. 23, 2003
8:32 p.m.
I didn�t get a lick of housework done (now that�s a disgusting image) because I decided to make a fire in the wood stove instead. Once I got a roaring blaze going, I filled a box with logs from the stack in the garage and hefted it as I picked it up to carry into the house. At that precise moment I felt a definite �uh oh� sensation in my lower back, which consisted of a sharp pain and the knowledge that this was not a good thing.

I still carried in the wood, added a stick to the fire, then lay down on the hearth rug and stretched out my lower back and hamstrings, drank the tea I had brewed for myself, took an ibuprofen and went to bed. After suffering from a bout of sciatica a few years ago, I take no chances now with that part of my anatomy.

This meant, of course, that vacuuming was out, bending over to pick up things was not going to happen, and belly dancing tonight was definitely out of the question. Instead, the man and I went to Son�s highschool to watch him get a math prize and be presented with his certificate for being on the Principal�s list, and then watch the drama presentation, of which he had a small part.

So, another ibuprofen before bed, and then hopefully I can get my jobs done (or started) tomorrow. Auf wiedersehn.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>