Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The Bloggers Quizz

Wednesday, May. 26, 2004
8:47 a.m.
Thanks to harri3tspy I don�t have to think up an entry this morning:

The honest blogger quiz:

1. Do you try to look hot when you go to the grocery store just in case someone recognizes you from your blog?

Ha ha, I don�t have to try to look hot. I just am!

2. Are the photos you post Photoshopped or otherwise altered?

Maybe size-reduced, but that�s all.

3. Do you like it when creeps or dorks email you?

No one emails me until I ask them to, and I�m not in the habit of asking either creeps or dorks.

4. Do you lie in your blog?

Not on purpose, but if giving only my side of a story is misleading in any way, then I guess I do.

5. Are you passive-aggressive in your blog?

I don�t really understand this question. I�m not attacking anyone, am I?

6. Do you ever threaten to quit writing so people will tell you not to stop?

Why would I do that? I�m not writing for other people specifically, although I�m glad to have an audience.

7. Are you in therapy? If not, should you be? If so, is it helping?

I saw a counsellor for a couple of months when I was in university because I was totally depressed by my failures in the love department (I could get love, I just couldn�t keep it), and it did help. Since then, though, I give more then I get.

8. Do you delete mean comments? Do you fake nice ones?

Yes, I do delete mean comments because it�s my notes page and I can. No, I do not fake nice ones. That would be so crass.

9. Have you ever rubbed one out while reading a blog? How about after?

I don�t really understand this question either. Rubbed one �what� out? A comment? And what does �rubbed out� mean in this case? Sorry, I need more information.

10. If your readers knew you in person, would they like you more or like you less?

I have no idea. My readers who do know me in person like me alot, as I do them. I think I could have really great personal relationships with many of my readers.

11. Do you have a job?

I teach singing part-time at a small, liberal-arts university. I copy music so that it is publication quality. Those are the things I do that earn me money. Otherwise, I work at being a wife and mother. That�s a job and-a-half.

12. If someone offered you a decent salary to blog full-time without restrictions, would you do it?

Yes, please!

13. Which blogger do you want to meet in real life?

Oh so many! But if I named names, the others would feel bad.

14. How many bloggers have you made out with?

None. My husband isn�t interested in blogging, so there.

15. Do you usually act like you have more money or less money than you really have?

How does one act about having money?

16. Does your family read your blog?

I don�t think so. They know it�s there, but so far haven�t openly expressed any interest in reading it.

17. How old is your blog?

One year in September.

18. Do you get more than 1000 pageviews per day? Do you care?

I have no idea how many hits I get, since I�m not hooked up to any counter.

19. Do you have another secret blog in which you write about being depressed, slutty, or a liar?

You mean you can do that? Just kidding! No, I don�t. One is definitely enough.

20. Have you ever given another blogger money for his/her writing?

I bought a poetry chap book from a fellow blogger. Does that count as giving or as buying? To be technically correct I didn�t pay the blogger, but her publisher.

21. Do you report the money you earn from your blog on your taxes?

You can earn money doing this?

22. Is blogging narcissistic?

Duh!

23. Do you feel guilty when you don�t post for a long time?

Guilty? Not in the sense that I�m depriving a loyal audience of my scribblings, but that I�m not writing regularly.

24. Do you like John Mayer?

Uh, who�s John Mayer?

25. Do you have enemies?

I don�t know. There are people out there who don�t like me, but actual enemies who would wish me harm? I certainly hope not!

26. Are you lonely?

Only when I�m sitting by myself at a party full of people and no one notices me.

27. Why bother?

I love to write. It has become an addiction, a need, and blogging is probably the easiest way to put pen to paper and have an audience give me feedback. Even without the feedback I would still do it. Plus, I have met people whom I like and would like to meet in person because we appear to have much in common. I feel a kinship with them, and without this blog I would not otherwise know them.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>