Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The new prin is in

Wednesday, Sept. 8, 2004
9:22 p.m.
Today was spent catching up on laundry and shopping, and I spent way too much time reading the fantasy novel I started on the train, not leaving myself any time to practise since there was a �do� at the new principal�s house on campus for members of the division of humanities, of which I am a part. At Patsy�s insistence I wore my purple Chinese silk dress, in which I am forced to suck in my gut, and I looked quite fine, if not actually divine. The new prin is a nice guy, and actually asked me if he could sit in on one of my lessons some time. I explained that it was up to the individual student, since it could be pretty embarassing to have a strange man listening while you squawk like some barnyard animal. I also warned him that it would be pretty boring. Anyway, I shall put the suggestion to my students, and I am quite sure in advance that none will acquiesce.

There were little filled-pastry munchies being passed around and I had my share of spicy triangular things stuffed with vegetables, as well as semi-circular flaky things with pesto and cheese. Not bad. Much better than most of the things the last prin put on. I was a good girl and didn�t have any alcohol, but ended up peeing like a trooper from all the Perrier I drank.

Hubby hadn�t gotten back yet from his rehearsal in Montreal, so I went stag, and ended up having very friendly conversations with people I am not all that happy about at the moment. I actually made a point to stop one of them who would have walked out without either looking at or talking to me, and inquired after his summer trip to Europe and all the pictures he was having developed. I can be a nice person. I can appear not to hold grudges. It�s not so difficult to put a smile on your face and in your voice and pretend that you like someone, even if it�s not strictly true.

Afterwards I came home, quickly changed back into comfortable clothes and shoes, and picked Patsy up so we could register for our bellydancing class. We stopped for sherbet afterwards. Latin starts tomorrow at 10:00, and she, at least, has to be perky, so I took her home and here I am.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>