Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Yesterday�s events

Monday, Aug. 9, 2004
10:20 a.m.
Looking down from the north attic window on the remains of the pine that we felled last night, I see a fallen giant. It has already been sawn into chunks to be transported elsewhere, but the outline remains, and the sadness is still there. I can even smell that piney smell as it wafts upwards through my open window. The yard suddenly seems so spacious now. Perfect for a gazebo, wouldn�t you know?

Last evening�s events overshadowed the rest of the day�s activities, and I am hardpressed to reconstruct them from memory. A couple of pages of symphony got copied and a singing warmup accomplished. Just as I finished my cadence for �So Shall the Lute and Harp Awake� from Handel�s Judas Maccabeus, the telephone rang and Buddy Boy requested a ride since he had woken up with a killer headache at his friend�s place and didn�t think he could bicycle home. Always the obliging mom, I headed over there, loaded his bike in the trunk and brought my poor baby boy home where he consumed a bowl of ramen soup flavoured with miso (his own form of �chicken soup�) and promptly went back to bed. He�s fine today. I think he was suffering from a hyper-glycemia attack, having gone to the mall the day before, bought $6 worth of candy, and eaten only that between an early supper at 4:30 p.m. and bedtime at a very late hour due to the watching of a double-bill video.

I also napped, a luxury which is actually a necessity, since I�ve been sleeping very poorly at night, after which I headed out to Costco and spent lots of money (as always), returning home to veg out playing Pyramids on Yahoo until I felt motivated enough to make supper. Then the tree came down.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>