Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I am armed, somewhat.

Monday, Apr. 9, 2007
10:56 p.m.
Until 5:00 p.m. I was still in my pyjamas. Talk about being slothful! I did get dressed to go to belly dancing, though, which turned out to be quite the educational experience. One of the girls had brought a video camera, so Lise recorded us as we went through our choreography. I had not danced in two weeks and was rather rusty. I’m also having a problem with bending my knees and rotating my pelvis around my navel, sort of, and keeping the motion in one place instead of jutting my hips out sideways with the rotation. It’s extremely difficult to explain, although if I were to show you, you’d say, “Oh, of course, now I get it!”

Anyway, we watched the recording and realized that we are all doing different things with our arms. Lise actually complimented me, saying that I have a good arm position when I think about it, but otherwise I forget and lose my tonus (there’s that word again) and they wilt like flowers which someone has forgotten to water. Actually, that was my analogy, not hers.

On the way home I stopped at the torréfacteur to buy some freshly-roasted coffee (Hubby finally used up the stuff he bought in the Dominican) and saw the young man who used to be in my Latin class. Actually, you could say that I used to be in his Latin class, since I quit and he stayed on. But anyway, he works there on Monday nights and we hadn’t seen each other for a while, so we chatted as he measured out my dark roast Tanzanian peaberry. He congratulated me on the choir show and admitted that he didn’t think he’d ever actually been to a choral concert before. It’s an English tradition, not a French one, which accounts for why English Canadians are familiar with pumpkin pie and their French-speaking counterparts know sugar pie better. Believe me, there must be some kind of relationship between pie and choirs.

When I got home, Hubby and Little Princess were watching the second half of the WW I special, so I joined them. Buddy Boy had inexplicably decided to visit a friend tonight and stay over there, which hurt his dad’s feelings somewhat. He wanted to watch the show with his boy who was actuaily in it. Oh well, we did do that last Thursday, so I guess it’s not all that significant.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>