Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The wheels on the bus go round and round.

Friday, Oct. 8, 2004
9:05 p.m.
The first part of the Christmas shopping is done. Cue a big sigh of relief. Hubby and I hit the university bookstore and purchased an adorable kids T-shirt for our grandniece, cupholder-suitable travel coffee mugs for the in-laws and a Bushop�s T-shirt (size XXL) for Uncle Al. We already had a lovely candlestick/butterfly/thingy for D & P that we bought in Tobermory last summer, and two foam beer can holders in the shape of bears or something cute like that for M & L. I wrapped up a hand-carved pen in the shape of a bird for my niece, and for her brother and his wife we have a set of three patio lanterns. We are also giving the adults copies of Hubby�s most recent CD. Everything is wrapped and ready to be tansported tomorrow.

The most recent shocking family news is that my niece, who recently bought a house with her boyfriend which was generously furnished with the assistance of various family members and their cast-off furniture, has broken up with said boyfriend, and since they now own property in common, there are �complications�. Oh well. I thought they were jumping the gun a little, but no one asked me. I look at her and hope that my own daughter will not be so impetuous.

We also went to the mall where I bought more liquid soap for the dispensers I keep in the bathrooms and Hubby picked up the new Eric Burden CD which he had ordered from HMV. This is a fine album, boys and girls. Mr. Burden demonstrates very eclectic styles, ranging from blues to soft rock to Sinatra-style crooning. There is something for everyone in there. I looked very briefly at leather skirts (they�re on sale, but they�re still expensive) and decided today was not the day. I also saw a gorgeous dress in Marie-Claire: your basic V-neck little black dress but with a handkerchief hem in a floaty material that, although probably too long on me, would look gorgeous. Unfortunately, I had had enough of the mall and didn�t want to stay any longer to try it on, but if I head back there next week and they have one in my size, there�s no saying that I won�t own yet another black dress. That would bring the grand total to two, I believe.

The weather today was absolutely gorgeous. I hung a load of wash out on the line and removed the tarpaulin from my garden. The basil, amazingly enough, survived. I cannot expect it to still be alive when we return, but if it is, I will consider harvesting and drying it. We�re planning on pulling out of here at 8 a.m., which means we�ll more likely get away around 9, arriving in Guelph at suppertime. I will be cut off from the internet until we return on Monday night, so I wish you all a fine weekend and a happy Thanksgiving to my fellow Canucks.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>