Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The last leg of the journey.

Sunday, Apr. 8, 2007
8:41 a.m.
The bus ride from T0r0nt0 to M0ntreal was uneventful. Usually I take the train when I travel that route, but this time I figured it was easier (though not cheaper) to do it this way, as it meant I didn’t have to find my way from the gare centrale to the terminus once I arrived in town. This was all very true. I even had a free seat next to me so I could curl up and attempt to sleep (unsuccessfully). However, because I am prone to motion sickenss, I felt queasy the whole trip. That was definitely not fun.

My bus pulled in to the terminus at about 4 p.m., I called Hubby to let him know which bus to Sh’brooke I would be on, exacting a promise that he would meet me at our local depot at 6:30, then went off to find a bathroom. So far so good. Sitting on a chair near my boarding platform was none other than the Duchess herself, returning from a visit to her mother in L0nd0n. We sat together for the ride home and got caught up on what our children are doing and various other news. That was really nice.

When we left the big city, the rain was starting to turn to snow. When we arrived in the little city two and-a-half hours later, the snow was almost a foot deep in places. Hubby was not at the station. I had told the Duchess that she need not have any of her menfolk pick her up at the bus, but we would drive her to the university, which is much closer. I tried calling home, no answer. She finally called the Duke and told him to tell their son, who was waiting for her at the arches, to come to the bus station. I called home again (it was 6:10 by now) and Hubby answered the phone, all groggy sounding. He had fallen asleep and not woken up until he heard the phone ring...the second time. As it turns out, both he and the Duchess’ son arrived at the depot the same time, one Subaru after another.

Then, after supper, I accompanied my husband and daughter to a party at the house of one of the physics professors, one of Hubby’s squash and tennis buddies. It was full of science nerd types and I had a nice conversation with Mike the exchange student from Australia. There were hardly any girls. I asked Little Princess why the students hadn’t brought their girlfriends and she just looked at me with that “Mom, they’re science nerds” look, which I guess means that most of them don’t have girlfriends. This is probably a good guess, as all the science profs present were dateless, and only one of them actually has a wife (my Indian neighbour whose marriage was arranged back in the old country).

Thursday night I was back in the big city, this time for a special screening of part of the mini-series Buddy Boy was in last summer, the documentary about the first world war which called for descendants of actual soldiers to reenact their ancestors’ own rôles. They showed Part II, and also a documentary made alongside the film about its making. If you have access to CBC television, the times are posted on the website I linked to. It was pretty emotional, and I was very proud of my son.

Friday night I did not go out. Instead Hubby, Little Princess, her BF and I had dinner at home (Buddy Boy had eaten in town with a friend with whom he promptly disappeared into the basement to play video games) with candles and wine (we polished off a bottle of merlot and then followed it up with some Quebec ice cider). There was a student graduation recital on that night, but I was too tipsy to go, even though I got berated on Faceb00k later for not attending. Ha!

Last night I was out again at a birthday party with my daughter and her BF again, a computer science student’s party (another nerd type) at his girlfriend’s place (at least he has a girlfriend). There were some people I knew there and many I did not, but I managed to get sufficiently drunk on Li0n’s ambrée d’amour to have a pretty good time. Don’t worry, I was sober when it was time to drive home. The BF was most definitely not. We gave a lift to a Columbian exchange student who also was most definitely not.

So I think I’m more or less caught up with my escapades. I wish everyone a happy Easter and a joyous Passover, and anything else I may have missed. I am fervently wishing for spring. The world is still covered with white shit (after Hubby said that practically all of the snow from February had melted) and that seems somehow terribly wrong in the middle of April.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>