Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The relative calm before the storm.

Wednesday, Jun. 6, 2007
6:58 p.m.
The sun has decided to emerge from behind the clouds that have covered the sky most of today. It’s decided to do this as I sit at the computer, shining obliquely through the north-facing window next to my workspace, blinding me in the process. Sheesh! We get lousy weather all day, and then the sun comes out at precisely that moment when it’s in my eyes.

It was cold today, cold and damp. I did little, besides copy a few more pages, make supper and work out the kinks in some of my deer skull poems from last night. I also went over some poetry Patsy gave me to critique, red-penning places where I felt synonyms were preferable to what she had written.

The grandfather clock has been acting strange lately, speeding up, slowing down, ringing when it shouldn’t. When it does that, I admit rarely, I have to get the hands and the chime back in sync. It could be the moisture in the air is causing the works to misbehave. I really don’t want to call the clocksmith back to look at it, but it might be a good idea to get him to clean and oil it. It has been a year and-a-half since he was here.

The symphony is almost done. Hubby figures he has another 20 pages (argh! 20 pages!) to copy out. Copying the score has been relatively tranquil compared to what extracting parts is going to be like. The stress! The stress!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>