Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

It�s not goodbye.

Friday, May 5, 2006
12:11 p.m.
It�s funny how I intended to write about totally different things in yesterday�s entry and somehow got blindsided by the whole funeral news.

I finished the book I was reading, Therapy by David L0dge, and I enjoyed it immensely. I recommend it very highly, especially to anyone experiencing middleaged angst, as I find myself doing from time to time.

Hubby and I are leaving in about 45 minutes, driving to Toronto where we will stay at my mom�s tonight, then heading to Guelph tomorrow for the visitation in the morning and the funeral in the afternoon. Hopefully we�ll meet up with my various siblings-in-law and go for dinner in the evening. I�m looking forward to seeing them, I just wish it were under happier circumstances. Then we�ll drive back on Sunday. Feh. I hate these quick in-out weekends, but that�s how it goes.

It means I�ll be missing the one Church Street Caf� concert I would have been able to go to all year (they hold them on the first Friday of every month, and our own concert series has its concerts on Friday nights), and I won�t be able to get Buddy Boy to help me dig up the garden because I won�t be here, even though he will be, but I wouldn�t ask him to do it on his own because he wouldn�t know where to start. Another feh.


Anyway, the healthfood store owner called me yesterday to say she had a bottle of Dong Quai capsules for me, which are supposed to help regulate menstrual bleeding and hopefully keep me from losing all that precious hemoglobin every month (and more often), so I had better go pick that up, finish packing my bag, and then it will be time to leave. You can tell I really don�t want to do this.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>