Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I got a letter from L.B.J., it said �This is your lucky day��

Thursday, Nov. 4, 2004
9:49 p.m.
Coming out of belly dancing tonight and driving home I experienced the Townships� first snow. Wet, sloppy flakes that turned to water when they hit the windshield of the car. The temperature wasn�t even freezing yet, but still we are blessed with this white shit. The forecast for tomorrow is not good, and we still have to change the tires on the Volvo.

Herr Doktor Professor Choir Director took me out to lunch today at Shalimar for the Thursday buffet. He insisted that it was his treat because he wanted to express his gratitude for my having joined the choir. He is so incredibly pleased with what I have done for the soprano section, he wishes I had made this decision years ago. Well I wish I had also done so years ago, but the timing was not right. He told me that I must never leave the choir now. Cute. We also discussed a section of the Fanshawe in which I have a solo and the choir is muttering away on changing chords in random fashion: Agnus dei qui tollis peccata mundi, miserere nobis. Lunch was good. Oh, so good.

My reluctant tenor is showing progress. I had such a good time in his lesson that I told him (jokingly, of course) that I should be paying him. I hope he had equally as good a time. I�m never really all that sure. My recital student is also improving. Why is it that serious vocal problems that seem simply unconquerable finally get dealt with in fourth year? When she does it right, it�s glorious.

The atmosphere here at D�land is still understandably bleak. Maybe this is a rallying cry to the disenfranchised to rise up and assert themselves. Remember, it was my generation, the Baby Boomers, who made the world sit up and listen when it came to protesting a different police action. �Lyndon Johnson told the nation, �Have no fear of escalation, I am trying everyone to please. Though it isn�t really war I�m sending 60,000 more to help save Viet Nam from the Vietnamese.��

|

<~~~ * ~~~>