Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Cywydd Llosgyrnog

Tuesday, May 3, 2005
10:39 p.m.
In answer to your questions, I do not know what is going on with Diaryland chat. I am just as in the dark as the rest of you. I have sent emails to help@diaryland and to andrew@diaryland, and have received no responses. I log in at least once a day, often more, and get the same �cannot connect� message that the rest of you get. Yes, I miss chat. But there is nothing I can do about it, sorry.

In other news, Janice set us a very difficult task in writing group tonight. She assigned us a Welsh form of poetry (with an unpronounceable name) with a very specific rhyme and syllable per line scheme which caused us a great deal of pain and suffering with very mediocre results. Six lines per stanza, the first, second, fourth and fifth are eight syllables each, the third and six are seven syllables each. Lines one and two and the fourth syllable of line three end with one rhyme, lines four and five and the third syllable of line six end in a different rhyme, and lines three and six end in a different rhyme again. Like this:

x x x x x x x A
x x x x x x x A
x x x A x x B
x x x x x x x C
x x x x x x x C
x x x C x x B

I dare you.

It poured today, but a break in the clouds gave me the opportunity to walk into town to deposit cheques at the bank, buy bananas and butter at the supermarket, hair conditioner at the pharmacy, shoyu at the healthfood store and basil seed at the feed store. My shoulder bag was getting heavy as I climbed Moulton Hill, but otherwise it was a good walk. I must make more reasons to get out daily. For instance, bindyree�s Czech arrived in the male, so I shall walk down to the bank and deposit it tomorrow.

Now I�m sleepy and still reeling from trying to rhyme. It must be easier in Welsh, that�s all I can think.


from harri3tspy :

Here is my lame attempt at your Welsh form, inspired by my less than inspiring morning run. Egad, this is almost as tough as a pantoum.

A robin sits on a flagstone.
A rush of wings and he is flown
Aloft, alone in the cold
Morning air not yet warmed by sun
Nor shadows formed, nor work undone
I stretch to run � I am old.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>