Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

More snow and post celebratory depression

Sunday, Jan. 3, 2010
8:13 p.m.
Today I am feeling the empty nest rather keenly. We drove Buddy Boy to the station and watched as his bus pulled out. Now both kids are gone again and I am sad.

Hubby has to have a chunk of his opera orchestrated for a workshop the last week of February, so I have been copying the score. In one way it’s nice to be back at work; in another, I would rather just lie around the house eating bonbons and reading cheap romance novels...except that I hate that kind of literature and I had one of those moments of truth when I stepped on the bathroom scale and realized I have approximately 10 pounds to lose. No bonbons for me.

The snow fell all night and we had to shovel the driveway again before we took Buddy Boy to his bus. As we drove down the street, we saw most of our neighbours out doing the same thing. Yay for Canadian winters!

Then there was laundry. There’s always laundry. I stripped both of the kids’ beds and realized that my son had thrown a couple of pairs of underpants in with the lights, which I didn’t get around to washing until today. He’ll just have to wait until I make my next trip to T.O.

My mother also called. Her opening words, after, “El? This is your mother,” were, “How did I get into this hell hole and how do I get out of it?” She has no idea what a real hell hole is. After talking with her for about 20 minutes, I called the front desk and asked that someone go to her room and bring her to the afternoon activity, which I was informed was a coffee party. My poor mommy. I wanted to visit her next weekend, but now I’ve got this copying deadline and I’ll have to put it off until the next weekend. If it looks like my teaching won’t start yet, I might go in the middle of the week.

So I’m feeling a little depressed and down. It could also be partly attributable to the paucity of calories I’ve consumed today. But somehow I don’t think so.


|

<~~~ * ~~~>