Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

New Year�s meme

Saturday, Dec. 31, 2005
9:13 p.m.
I promise there will be a proper update tomorrow, but for now I�ll do that crazy meme everyone is talking about, the one where you take the first sentence of each month�s entry and make a paragraph of them. I cheated a little bit, I hope that�s all right.

A brand-new day, a brand-new year, and what better way to celebrate than with a brand-new diary entry? I went to see the sports medicine doctor this morning about my shoulder. Yes, I really am here, after that hellish two weeks of score and parts preparation, in the land of the hummingbird and the calabash. Last night I saw a fabulous student production of Vict0r Hug0�s The Hunchback of N0tre Dame, adapted for the stage by Rick WheIan, in the studio theatre, a black box space, by this year�s graduating class. This has been a reception weekend, a dessert weekend, a gain-back-all-the-weight-you-worked-so-hard-to-lose weekend. At writing group last night Janice produced an ancient quilt, so threadbare that whole squares were worn away and the woolen blanket underneath was transparent. Guess what, boys and girls! Guess! My printer is giving me blank pages again. Here we are, a new month already and I�m still not done extracting parts for this piece which is turning out to be a real pain in the derri�re. Well, hello again. After acquiring several bags of potting soil, I went on a repotting spree, both yesterday and this morning. The weather has changed. Well, what do you know, it�s rosh chodesh, again, and that much closer to the end of the school term.

Happy New Year, everyone. See you next year!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>