Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Samosas....mmmm.......

Monday, Jul. 2, 2007
11:30 p.m.
When my kids were little, I spent a lot of time socializing with my neighbours who also had little kids. Once they were in school and no longer running back and forth to each other’s houses across the back yards, I stopped seeing them. Seventeen years ago when we moved to this neighbourhood, the trees behind our yard were small things. There was an open space between my house and Sue’s and Little Princess and her son used to play together all the time. They were even engaged briefly when she was four and he was five. Sigh.

Tonight we were over at their house for a barbecue dinner (which was eaten inside because of the vagaries of the weather). They are from India and Sue is an incredible cook, even though she compares herself to the one-eyed man who is the king of the village of blind people. For everyone else she made tandoori chicken (her husband did the actual grilling), for Hubby and myself she prepared spiced salmon. There was another vegetarian in the crowd, a physics professor from Italy who is also a neighbour. I don’t know what his main course was. She also had a green salad, basmati rice with slivered almonds, beans, and fresh mango and cherries for dessert with ginger cake and a dollop of whipped cream. It was fantastic. Oh, I forgot to mention the samosas for appetizers. I’m stuffed.

The other guests were mostly people whom I didn’t know all that well, even though I’ve known them for some time. There were two retired college professors, colleagues of Sue’s husband, and their wives, another Indian man and his wife (whose daughter was in the same class at school as Buddy Boy), and the aforementioned Italian physics professor whose wife and child are out west for the summer. It was nice to get to know these people better, except that they talked about golf far too much, something in which neither Hubby nor I have any interest at all. Still, it was very pleasant.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>