Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I�m in love!

Sunday, Jan. 2, 2005
2:31 p.m.
I am shamelessly going to plug a fellow diarist, one I encountered recently in the Diaryland chatroom, of all places, and with whom I felt an immediate affinity. This is very strange, because I consider my acquaintances here at D�land to be in two different categories: those whom I read and those with whom I chat. I chat rarely with the diarists whose journals I started reading through serendipity, although I would like to do it more, but these people don�t frequent the chatroom, and are rarely found on MSN or other instant messengers. On the other hand, many of the diaries of people I have met in the chatroom are now on my list, but for the most part they were later additions, after I got to know and like these people from our conversations.

This one is different. The first and so far only time I chatted with zuzus-petals I pulled up her diary and became immediately enthralled. I have started reading from the beginning, savouring every word and phrase, enjoying her tangents and the way she brings me back to the topic at hand, and especially her use of language. I feel as though I have struck journalistic gold here, or at least the equivalent, and I want to make every entry last, rereading entire paragraphs as though I were committing them to memory, making sure I haven�t missed anything.

This is making me think about my own writing. Lately my entries have become mundane, daily litanies of laundry loads and grocery lists. Maybe I just write too much, too often. Perhaps I need to slow down and distill my life into an essence, an elixir if you will, that will satisfy with less-frequent draughts. In the meantime, I shall continue to drink deeply at zuzus-petals� well and come up inspired and refreshed. Thank you, my friend.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>