Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Oh happy day!

Thursday, Feb. 2, 2006
7:17 p.m.
It�s been one of those days where all I really wanted to do upon awakening was crawl back into bed and stay there. I haven�t been sleeping well, not able to drift off when I do go to bed (which is not late, believe me, I think I was in bed shortly after 10 p.m. last night), waking often, and too early. It manifests itself as a heaviness behind my eyes, and today finally culminated in a headache that blossomed during choir practice and became unbearable as I was driving Buddy Boy home afterwards. Extra-strength pain killer relieved it, but not for over an hour.

Thursdays are my semi-days off. I don�t have to be anywhere officially until 4:00 p.m. for choir, so I take advantage of the time to go shopping, catch up on jobs around the house and run errands. Today I went to Costco where I only intended to buy a few things, and somehow managed to spend over $100.00. I was also at the mall where I bought new bedroom slippers (unfortunately, they were the only slippers not on sale, if you can believe that), a gift for my sister-in-law (her birthday was the day after mine, and of course we are late, as usual) and some cleaning product which my cleaning lady asked for. She called it Bam, but it�s actually called Kab00m, if that makes a difference, and I found it in ZeIIers. The only thing she got right was the purple bottle.

In the shoe store I was transacting my business with the saleslady in French, as I usually do, when a woman came in and asked her in English if she had a certain shoe in a certain size. The clerk replied perfectly in the same language that she did not, these were sale items and what was on the rack was all she had in stock. I said, �You�ve been making me speak French to you!� and she answered, �But you have such a nice accent!� We finished off the transaction in English, much to my relief. I bought the slippers anyway.

While at the mall I had lunch from the Chinese counter in the food court, the assiette v�g�tarienne, and the fried envelope on the spring roll reminded me of it for the rest of the day. I stopped at the SAQ and loaded up on booze (Cuban rum, Cr0wn R0yal, vodka and Car0Ians), which was very expensive (vices are, I guess) and went home where I only had time to check my email and read a couple of diaries before heading out again to choir, where I encountered my annoying student from yesterday who felt she had to tell me that she practised today. Woo hoo.

I am looking forward to an evening of slothfulness. What I really want to do is go to bed right now, but if I do, no one will wind the clock at 10:00.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>