Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Nothing but blue skies from now on.

Thursday, Sept. 28, 2006
10:42 p.m.
There’s a meme that’s making its way around here which I’m not going to do, okay? Instead, I think I’ll tell you what a fabulous singer I am. Yes, yes, I know that sounds incredibly conceited, and it is, but I had a really good time this evening, even though my left foot is killing me right now, probably from standing around for a couple of hours in my new high-heeled boots which looked fabulous, but the human foot wasn’t meant to be forced into that position, with weight on it yet, for so long. I wore them, the boots that is, with my black suede dress and a fleece jacket which is really rather dressy, since the concert was outside. We were on a stage set up in the quad, while an art exchange took place in a tent, and lots of people came to listen. There was even one couple dancing, which was really sweet.

In a Sentimental M00d was very beautiful, as was Summertime, and everybody liked the up-tempo numbers as well: Tuxed0 Juncti0n and D0n’t Get Ar0und Much Anym0re. We played for an hour, contending with dropping temperatures, wind (our music was held in place on the stands with clothes pins), and no sound guy, but the balance was pretty good, according to our audience. At times I would sing a high note and hear it echoed back to me from the university buildings surrounding the quad. It was pretty cool.

So I’m really pumped now and ready for tomorrow night’s blues concert.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>