Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Summertime, and the living is easy.

Wednesday, Jun. 28, 2006
7:23 p.m.
As we finished dinner this evening (a spartan affair of black bean soup [augmented with pureed tomatoes], cooked asparagus and buttered brown bread), Hubby announced to Little Princess and me (Buddy Boy was off at rugby practice), "Thank you for the delicious supper. I shall see you in the next life." Little Princess said, "Maybe you won't see us in the next life, maybe you'll be in India and I'll be in Spain," and I added, "and I won't be anywhere because I don't believe in it." Then Little Princess turned to me and said, "I don't believe in it either, but that doesn't mean it can't happen. I mean, I could say that I don't believe in gravity, but that's not going to keep my feet from sticking to the ground." And then we had a good laugh.

I spent all of today in front of the computer, copying one of the songs Hubby composed last fall for one of Canada's premiere sopranos. She already has a copy of his manuscript and says she loves them, and her accompanist says he loves them, but they haven't given us a premiere date, which would be nice. Anyway, I copy them all the same so that they will be publication ready when the time comes for them to be so. I have no idea what I just typed, but it doesn't really matter.

Let's see, what other fun stuff did I do today? It rained in the morning, so I put a load of laundry in to wash and dried half of it in the dryer, but hung out the second half this afternoon because it got sunny, but then it got cloudy and cooled off, so the second batch ended up in the dryer after all. Um, I had a long instant-message conversation with coldandgray while I sat at the computer, trying to format the song so it would fit properly (it won't, I'm going to have to reduce it somewhat, and that doesn't mean edit it) and that was utterly delightful and I look forward to doing it again. Oh, and I played innumerable games of spider solitaire when I couldn't stand looking at little black noteheads any longer.

Now it seems as though we are going to be treated to a glorious sunset. I love summertime.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>