Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The party has just begun.

Friday, Apr. 27, 2007
7:33 p.m.
At this moment, I am hiding in the attic, not planning on emerging (although I know I will) until it is quiet in the living room (which it won’t be for a long time). My son is having his coming-of-age party, for which I purchased a quantity of beer, a huge bag of gourmet jelly beans at Costco, multi-coloured fruit-flavoured Twizzlers, chips, chips, more chips and dip, and soft drinks for thems that don’t consume the hard stuff (either because they’re under age [which probably won’t stop them] or because it is their preference).

My day went something like this:

7:00 a.m. Rose. Dragged myself into the kitchen desperate for something to drink. Had orange juice and tea, in succession, not concurrently. Stared blearily at the newspaper. Read the comics. Attempted the crossword puzzle. It’s really hard on Friday. Got about half of it done. Gave up on the rest.

8:30 a.m. Sat down at the computer and checked my email. I don’t know why I bother: no one loves me. Typed up a list of hotels/motels in the area that we will append to the invitations for our 25th wedding anniversary party that were supposed to go out today but didn’t.

9:30 a.m. Had a bath. Luxuriated in hot water and bubbles. Didn’t want to get out. Added hot water as needed. Ahhhhhh......

10:00 a.m. Exited the bathtub and dried off and dressed. Drove into Sh’brooke to my favourite jeweller’s (an old guy whom I have been frequenting for years now) so he could adjust the chain on the silver and larimar bracelet I bought when we were in the Dominican Republic (how long ago was that now?). As it is, I can slip it on and off over my fist. It would probably fit on my ankle no problem. I also bought a new watch. The one I have been wearing for the past 20 years (at least) is a CardinaI I bought when Hubby and I were poor (I think I paid $24.99 for it way back when). Apart from the need to change its battery every couple of years and replace the leather band (which now costs more than the original watch did), and the nasty scratch on the crystal, it runs perfectly and I have never felt a need to replace it. However, today I purchased a brand-new watch, a very beautiful watch, with a metal band which should not need replacing ever, for the grand sum of $175.00. I can pick it up tomorrow (he had to make the bracelet smaller, wouldn’t you know). The silver jewellery is a bit more complicated and will take longer.

11:35 a.m. I taught my college student a lesson. I’m starting to get a little worried about her. She has only taken one semester of singing lessons and has to perform a jury in just over a week, she hasn’t been very good about practising, doesn’t read music (or didn’t when we started and probably hasn’t improved much since), and I admonished her that if she doesn’t want her exam to be an unmitigated disaster (my words exactly), she has to practise her buns off every day. We shall see.

12:25 p.m. Picked up the invitations from Brigitte at the print shop. Went home and ate.

1:20 p.m. Returned to the university to pay Brigitte for the invitations and to pick up a fax at the reception desk (the music union receipts Hubby and I need for our taxes), thence to Costco where I spent way too much money buying some of the aforementioned party supplies (and other stuff).

3:30 p.m. Returned home, unpacked the car, and lay down. I was too exhausted to go out again without putting my feet up and pretending to be asleep.

4:15 p.m. Had a cup of tea then ventured out again, this time with Hubby by my side to help with the heavy lifting, bought the beer, pop, and aforementioned multi-coloured fruit-flavoured Twizzlers (they were really an afterthought, I just couldn’t resist their playful appearance) as well as various and sundry foodstuffs to nourish our bodies and souls. As we were leaving the supermarket parking lot in the rain, I noticed two boys, one of whom I knew, standing outside a telephone booth, then realized that the third boy inside the telephone booth was none other than my second-born, who was in the process of calling home for a ride. Serendipity! We packed them into the car with the groceries and everyone was happy.

5:30 p.m. I made supper: barbecued lemon-peppered tilapia fillets, brown rice and sautéed green beans with garlic. It was delicious.

7:00 p.m. The party has officially begun and, after cleaning up the dinner mess (it’s Little Princess’ night to do dishes) I fled upstairs where it is more or less quiet.

One thing I forgot to mention, I made a pan of chocolate brownies which I had just removed from the oven. I suppose at some point I should venture back downstairs to cut them up. It can wait.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>