Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I love Indian food.

Friday, Oct. 21, 2005
8:40 p.m.
Vlad and I went out for lunch to Shalimar, the Indian restaurant in town, which meant she picked me up and we drove all the way around through Sh�brooke, the bridge being closed to vehicular traffic. That didn�t stop the other diehard, Friday-noon regulars from partaking of the all-you-can-eat buffet. The place was packed. We started with dal and potato soup with naan bread (it was perfect), followed by fresh vegetables with a yogurt dressing, curried potatoes, saut�ed broccoli, curried brown lentils and basmati rice. Vlad also had some of the curried beef and chicken. For dessert we both had their divine rice pudding. I have to learn how to make rice pudding like that. It was heavenly.

Afterwards we stopped at UpIands to see the most recent art exhibit (Vlad showed me the painting her husband bought her for Christmas), and then she drove me out to the garage to pick up the Subaru, which was having its oil and filters changed and the snow tires put on. There was actually a nail embedded in one of the rear summer tires. We drove all the way to and from Ontario with that in there.

Driving Buddy Boy to the bridge so he could walk into town just now, I almost hit a deer on my way home. Coming out of the cemetary there were two young deer crossing the road, as slowly as possible. Adult creatures would have bounded away when I approached, but these guys just ambled along like they had all the time in the world. After they passed, I noticed that there were more deer in the cemetary. It was rather frightening. They�re the same colour as the road.

Now I�m looking forward to an evening of TV, computering, and going over my Musiciens de Br�me score.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>