Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

I’m covered by a little black cloud.

Tuesday, Jan. 20, 2009
10:04 p.m.
Today has not been a great day. I had a very long, hot bath this morning in which I read a pretty good science fiction story about gene modification, and as I was getting dried off and dressed I started to feel quite faint, possibly because I hadn’t had any breakfast. As soon as I felt I could walk, I got myself some orange juice and a banana, but it took a while before I felt normal again. Actually, I haven’t felt normal all day.

In Spanish class, the professor talked very quickly and I just stared at him, open mouthed, not understanding a single thing. Last week we covered the pretérito perfecto and today we started the pretérito indefinito. This is too much too quickly for my aging brain. He had to help me with the in-class work because I just stared at the page, unable to comprehend what was being asked and what I needed to do.

On the way back to the department, I mailed some letters and stopped at the book store where they have G0diva chocolate for sale. I bought a raspberry infused dark chocolate bar that breaks into four squares for a whopping $4.24! That’s more than $1 per square. If I hadn&squo;t been so desperate for dark chocolate I would never have bought it. But it was good.

My favourite practice room was occupied when I went back to the department and I had to search around for another. The blues tunes I’m learning for the concert in a month’s time require me to sing in chest voice for some, and full voice for others. It’s very fatiguing. Frustrating too, because I haven’t worked out the technique yet not to get all tense and stressed out.

Choir was choir. I had a headache, and that didn’t help. Supper was pizza. I had whiskey, which actually helped a bit. I think it’ll be an early night. Yeah. More sleep is good. More sunlight would be even better.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>