Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Stell auf dem tisch...

Wednesday, Nov. 1, 2006
5:21 p.m.
One of my office mates commented today that we really need that mid-semester break now, not at Thanksgiving. We are all dragging ourselves around. A student actually told me I was looking tired as I sat in the lobby eating my soup at lunchtime. I really don’t need to hear this, but it is undoubtedly true. Perhaps my body is not yet used to being back on standard time; I’m still waking up too early even though I’m trying to go to bed at the right time. Or we can chalk it up to the hot flashes that are waking me up two or three times in a night.

The zippers in all my fall outer wear are shot, and it was too warm today for my winter coat, so I am doing the turtleneck/sweatshirt/fleece thing, which is great for walking to and from school. It’s less great when I suddenly have to peel off layers when another flash hits, which happened twice while I was sitting in the lobby. The student I was with was slightly amused.

Okay, enough of that stuff. My first-year soprano is excruciatingly shy, but I think she’s learning things. Unfortunately, she’s one of these chronically-sick people. Right now she has some kind of throat thing going on, and I told her to get to health services and see a doctor. Hopefully she did that. It’s so difficult to deal with singers who are always suffering from some kind of respiratory tract infection. It’s discouraging for both of us.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>