Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

O Canada, etc.

Tuesday, July 1, 2008
11:54 p.m.
We had, yet again, a perfectly beautiful day, free from rain and full of bright sunshine. Unfortunately, I spent all of the morning indoors, trying to do my brother a favour by copying the contents of his camera memory cards onto my hard drive so I could burn a DVD for him to take with him, allowing him to free up space for more pictures, videos and music recordings. There were a couple of files that kept screwing up the transfer, and I finally narrowed it down to just one that would not allow itself to be copied. It kept necessitating relaunching the finder, which would not in the end relaunch, which meant turning off the computer and rebooting, which occurred several times before I just gave up and didn’t copy that one last .wav file. Otherwise, he now has a DVD of everything but that one file and life goes on.

Little Princess and I took him for another walk today, along the bike path and into town to her BF’s place where we had freezies and rested our weary tootsies, and then he and I returned on the other side of the street so I could drop off a DVD we rented and watched last night. It was terrible. I do not recommend that you watch 10,000 B.C. if you can possibly help it. You have been warned.

Then I made an amazing supper from brown rice and a stir fry of various vegetables hanging around in the fridge: snow peas, carrot, celery, green pepper, and a can of kidney beans, seasoned with Mexican herbs and spices. We hopped in the car and went as we were (that’s not strictly speaking true, as I put on long pants and took a sweater with me) to the cinema to see the latest superhero movie, Hanc0ck, which was pretty bad, but actually not that bad, as the star, one W. Smith, rocks.

Afterwards we headed to the park at Lac des Nations to see fireworks which I had mistakenly believed would start at 10:00, and didn’t actually start until an hour later. In the meantime, we listened to the rock band en vedette called J0nas. The bassist is JS, a former student of ours who is quite a virtuoso. They were good, but they were incredibly loud, so loud that even with ear plugs inserted firmly in my ears, they were just barely bearable. Just barely.

The fireworks, however, were spectacular and truly made up for the long wait.

My brother leaves tomorrow to go to see our mother. We’ve had fun, but I need my life to get back to normal.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>