Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Pooh!

Tuesday, Aug. 1, 2006
2:49 p.m.
My mother, brother, sister-in-law and nephew arrive in approximately 4.5 hours for a sojourn of six nights, and however many days that entails. The beds are made, the menus planned, the whale-watching adventure booked and the rental van reserved. Now I have to compose my mentis so that I a) don't get into an argument with anyone, b) don't loose my cool and have a temper tantrum, and c) don't quietly go loony trying to comply accomplish the above. It is also hotter than a sauna, the humidity is oppressive, and I have to cook. Oh stuff and bother, as my favourite bear would say.

Hubby and I also just returned from an overnight stay in the Nation's Capital (Ottawa to those of you who are unfamiliar with that handle) where we heard a piece of his for accordion and string quartet performed at a bar, believe it or not, at 11 p.m. It was a long trip for one concert, approximately four hours each way and we didn't arrive early enough for the string quartet concert that started at 8:00, but the event was a success, we enjoyed our hotel room, had a delightful meal in the bistro itself before the show, and drove home in the heat thanking the gourd that we have air conditioning.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>