Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

D is for Diva

Tuesday, Dec. 19, 2006
10:58 p.m.
I made an executive decision not to hand in a supplemental grammar section, but just the English translation of the Cicer0. Trying to make sense out of my notes, out of the textbook, and find examples in the aforementioned text, looking at the computer and thinking that if I did one more bit of Latin I would go insane, I figured that I could do without the 10% that it was worth and end up with a possible 85% instead of 95% for a final mark. I clipped a note to my translation that I left in my prof’s box today, and I know she’ll understand.

Well, it got cold, just as my weather widget predicted it would, and it snowed. I don’t know how long it’ll last, as the temperature is due to go up a bit tomorrow, but the lows are still below freezing, so we might get a white Christmas after all. Hubby didn’t manage to find a tree, so tomorrow we’ll try a couple more places. I’m amazed at how laid back we are about the whole seasonal preparation thingie. I guess it comes from our lives being regulated by the university schedule. He just got his marks handed in yesterday and finally started his shopping.

The whole house smells of fried oil. I performed my annual Hanukah ritual and made potato latkes. Yum. Then Hubby, Buddy Boy and I, with two of his friends, watched the Canadian movie that has taken Quebec by storm, B0n C0p, Bad C0p. It was good. It was so true to what we experience here linguistically all the time without even realizing it, speaking a sentence in both official languages concurrently.

harri3tspy hit me with a meme, well, I asked for it, actually. I have to name ten things that I love that start with the letter “D” for Diva. Here goes:

1. First off, I couldn’t immediately think of any words or names that started with D, so I went to my Dictionary, and realized that yes, in fact, I do love the Dictionary. We have tons of reference materials sprinkled around the house, a set of encyclopaedias, several atlases, and a dictionary in every room, as well as a goodly supply of foreign-language lexicons. So, that had to be number one.

2. I love my Dearest Darling, the Dad of my kids. That goes without saying. It was just a worry how I would get him in there, considering none of his names begins with D.

3. I also love my Daughter.

4. I love my son too, but since none of his names starts with a D either, I have to say that I love the Dimple in his left cheek, the one that was so cute when he smiled as a wee one, with his chubby cheeks and just one little hollow on one side.

5. I love my Dishwasher. Of all my household appliances, it is the only one for which I have a deep and abiding love.

6. I love the Duvet on my bed. There was a time when I was allergic to feathers, they made me sneeze, but I went out and bought myself a down coat anyway, was sick for three weeks, then miraculously recovered, and have never had an allergic reaction since. So I went out and bought a goose-down duvet for our bed and have never looked back. It’s so cozy.

7. I love a good Double entendre. We seem to base all our humour in our house on the pun, on word play, so it makes perfect sense.

8. I love the ancient Greek city of Delphi. I’ve been there twice now. The second time I was with the children (in 1999--Hubby was busy copying the inscriptions off a chunk of marble that had formerly been on the outside of the Athenian treasury, but was now in the museum), and we met up with a group of English visitors, a couple shepherding around a class of teenagers, and the husband was the quintessential British beardo, socks in Birkenstocks, pith helmet, safari jacket, with bent knitting needles that he was using as dousing rods to discover the energy lines upon which the temple of Apollo was built. Decidedly eccentric.

9. I love my Diary. I really do. I love being able to write whatever comes to mind, to be able to read it later, to make it look good. I have to thank Jenn for getting me started here all those years ago, even though she herself is now absent from these hallowed pages, which leads me to my last, but definitely not least love:

10. Diaryland! I adore this place. For this reason alone, I have to thank harri3tspy for giving me the letter D. I have made friends here, I’ve learned all sorts of interesting things, it has become an integral part of my life. Without it, I would have no social life at all!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>