Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Up to my neck in orchestral parts.

Saturday, Jun. 16, 2007
10:44 p.m.
I have, this moment, just printed out the first draft of the tuba part for the first movement of my husband’s latest ouevre, which leaves me percussion, harp and strings to complete before I get to work on movements No. 2, 3 and 4. I really don’t think we’re going to get all this off on Monday to the conductor. The score maybe, the parts definitely not.

All day I have done little else but sit on my ever-widening derrière in front of my poor computer (which hasn’t had much of a chance to cool off) and worked at this job. When I have managed to escape, either to eat or rest my eyes or pee, my son has immediately taken my place in order to play some game or other. I am only a little resentful that my husband got to go out with Kevin O today to drop off a demo CD in hopes of getting a gig, enjoying a cool beer on the terrace of the establishment whereat they hope to be employed, and then later on played tennis with the boys. I haven’t even put my tomato plants in my garden yet. I cannot justify the time away from the computer.

Sigh.

Why, oh why, did I ever get into this business? The copying for this symphony alone will pay for our trip to the far-away time zone this summer, so I guess I shouldn’t complain. Well, that is if the taxman doesn’t take away too large a chunk of it.

Sigh.

Okay, I have to go pee and then get back to work. Toodles!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>