Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The long and winding road�that leads to my door.

Tuesday, Nov. 15, 2005
10:40 p.m.
I am just a little upset that I went the long way around coming back from writing group tonight, only to find that the bridge was open to one lane of vehicular traffic, regulated by a light, and I could have saved myself seven kilometers of distance. When I left at 6:40 to go, the barrier was still up. At 10: 15 it was gone, but I didn�t see it until I was already on my side of the bridge, after taking the Glenday detour, through the rain on the rutted dirt road. Grrr!

Anyway, I had a fantastic idea for a diary entry last night as I was brushing my teeth in readiness for bed, such a fantastic idea, in fact, that I was absolutely certain that I would not forget it, hence there was no need to write it down, only to awaken this morning not remembering what the hell it had been. So, I am stuck with recapping my day, which was fairly boring and ordinary, since my memory is like a sieve and the brainchild was stillborn.

So, let me see. I went grocery shopping, taught singing, went to choir, came home, made supper, went to writing group, and returned home again. Boring.

Oh, wait, something interesting did happen today. Winter arrived. Real winter. This isn�t like the oobleck we had a couple of weeks ago. That was just a �teaser�. Today we got real snow. We also got real rain, which we�re getting right now, but for a while there the bike path was coated with white, the trees were Christmas-card laden, and parked cars were blanketed with the real McCoy. It�s all washed away now, and the rain continues to come down, but the temperature will be dropping overnight, and tomorrow morning we might awaken to the pristine whiteness of the winter�s first real snowfall.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>