Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Another long day, another long night.

Wednesday, Apr. 13, 2005
11:58 p.m.
As I write, there is a jam session taking place in my living room. Let me explain.

Today was the official last day of classes, and except for my deferred-jury student, I got my last lessons for the term taught. Tomorrow my students have their final juries, the exam period begins and the end is in sight. This week is the week of concerts without end, it seems. Tonight the Bushop�s Chamber Orchestra performed to a standing-room-only crowd, which is rather amazing and incredibly encouraging. The highlight of the programme was the premiere of one of Hubby�s composition student�s violin concerto, performed by the composer most brilliantly. This is a girl who came here several years ago, got into bad company, did lots of nasty drugs, dropped out, got her act more or less together, came back, and is now excelling. I for one am very proud of her.

But before that Hubby and I were playing musical cars, or car in our case, and I was supposed to pick him up from his rehearsal at 6:00 p.m. I was also expecting Buddy Boy back from his field trip to Ottawa somewhere around the same time. Hubby�s rehearsal was not done at 6:00, so I headed over to the Provigo parking lot and met the mother of one of Buddy Boy�s friends, also waiting for her son. As we were chatting in the rain, another woman joined us who had just received word that the bus was delayed and our children would not be arriving until after 8:30. This was rather discouraging news, considering that the concert was scheduled for 8:00, and I had also promised a neighbour that I would bring her daughter home when I picked up my son. As it turned out, the first woman said she would wait for the bus at the home of the second woman and take both my son and the neighbour�s daughter home when she picked up her own son. I must get this woman a gift of sorts.

So I returned to the university, where the rehearsal was still going on and played Freecell until it was time to go home, which was shortly after 7:00. Considering the concert was at 8:00 and there were still jobs to be done in preparation for the evening�s entertainments, no supper was had. Little Princess was in a snit because she had broken a violin string and because she didn�t know what to wear as concert mistress. The low blood sugar surely didn�t help.

As I already said, the concert went very well. Hordes of young people showed up at our house, devoured all the food I put out (I was one of the devourers, not having dined earlier), and presently started to leave. The diehards are still here, playing various guitars, a bass, a cello and an alto sax. I took the opportunity to escape to make the violist�s bed up and to update my diary. I do not know when it will be quiet enough for me to lay my head on my pillow and be rendered unconscious, but I can wager that it won�t be anytime soon.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>