Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sunshine & Lollipops

Saturday, Sept. 12, 2009
11:17 p.m.
Today has been a better day for me. It’s allergy season, ragweed being the culprit, and I am hit every year with respiratory unpleasantness. On Thursday my throat was hurting, which made our first choir practice of the semester a bit rough. I ended up leaving early. Yesterday I was suffering terribly, with runny eyes, stuffed nose, itchy throat, and it didn’t help that I gave Suzie a delicious ear scratching on the deck and ended up inhaling a pile of cat dander. The wily feline still managed to sneak into the kitchen, despite all my attempted door blockage, and I had to carry him out and dump him unceremoniously back on the deck.

The previously catalogued symptoms produced a sinus headache from hell, and I finally broke down and took an antihistamine plus pain killers in the hopes that it would go away. Hubby offered dinner out, and I stipulated that it should be quiet and the food hot. Sadly, we only got one of those things.

The first place we tried, my favourite Vietnamese restaurant, was full and we would have waited a while for a table. The second place we tried was trop cher and the menu didn’t look vegetarian friendly at all, although it probably would have been very peaceful in there. So we headed across the street to a venue where Hubby’s trio played during last May’s festival, and were immediately besieged by techno, or what sounded like techno, the bass turned up loud and the treble just beyond the realm of hearing.

By this time we were very hungry, so we decided to stay. Almost immediately, the waitress brought a couple of Sex on the Beaches to our table, saying they were compliments of the couple at that table over there. It turned out that the couple over there were none other than the newlyweds whose wedding we had attended last August. They were just finishing their meal and came over to chat before they headed out. Dinner was good. We had chef salads and shared a pizza, but the music just brought my headache back full force and we didn’t stay for dessert.

Today I am feeling much better and my mood has lifted considerably. My big brother called from the Holy Land and we had a lovely chat, I shopped for groceries and the weather was once more glorious. I even rented a movie, 17 Again, which Hubby and I watched after supper.

Now it’s bedtime. Life is not perfect, but I think I’ll survive.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>