Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Vagina M0n0l0gues

Sunday, Feb. 11, 2007
9:26 p.m.
I have just now returned home from an evening at the theatre, specifically a performance of the Vagina M0n0l0gues by the women’s study department. It involved 23 or so different girls, mostly university students but one actual child, and covered all sorts of topics. I had heard about this play before, but this was my first actual show. I loved it.

As was pointed out again and again, most of us don’t really think too much about our vaginas. I think the whole point behind the M0n0l0gues was that we shouldn’t be ashamed of them, that we should embrace them as a part of our bodies, a part of what makes us women, and as pleasure centres.

My husband, who is leaving tomorrow for 10 days in Florida to visit his parents, did not accompany me, pleading the need to tidy up loose ends and get his packing done. But I secretly think that the topic makes him uncomfortable. The audience was mostly female, but there were many men present, university students and others, and the presentation was funny and tasteful. There was no real “man bashing” (which is what I think my husband was anticipating), and where there were terrible things said about men, it was because they were terrible men, as in the native-American man who beat his wife senseless so she ended up in the hospital and had to have five head surgeries, or the men who raped and mutilated a Bosnian woman.

Especially liberating were the m0n0l0gues which celebrated the vagina, delivered by characters who had gone from either despising it or not acknowledging its existence to accepting it as a house of worship in their bodies. It was great. If the Vagina M0n0l0gues comes to a theatre near you, I recommend that you take advantage of it.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>