Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Back to work, you lazy bum!

Monday, Apr. 11, 2005
7:54 p.m.
Hmm, it�s still my mom�s birthday, and I still haven�t phoned her. I will, I promise, as soon as I finish updating. I promise. Really.

Diaryland Chat is down, which is probably a good thing in the long run, and a pain in the proverbial ass in the short because I find myself logging in repeatedly in the hope that it will suddenly manifest itself. On the other hand, I�ve been so incredibly busy, especially in the evenings, that it hasn�t been that much of a hardship.

I am still feeling lousy, and as Patsy is also feeling lousy and called to say she was playing hooky from bellydancing, I decided I could do so as well. This came after teaching a couple of lessons and meeting with my part-time union rep. He and I came to the conclusion that there should be no difference between music tutors and contract faculty who teach courses (some of these are the same people) if music tutors are hired using a similar search and selection process as the others; and this should not affect the status of part-time music tutors who were hired previous to the institution of the collective agreement, such as myself. Hell, I got the job because the then chair of the department wanted to find something for me to do. I think that after 17 years of doing this job, I�ve earned my spot in it.

My student whom I am considering failing was very surprised to learn that she had missed her lesson on Friday. She was dismayed that she wouldn�t get her full quota for the term. I caved, saying that if she and her accompanist were rehearsing at a time that was convenient to me, I would come to that session and call it a lesson. *rolls eyes* However, did I mention that she was a full 20 minutes late today, citing the train as her reason? *rolls eyes again*

As I write this, I am being beset by ladybugs which Buddy Boy is picking off me. Thanks, Buddy Boy.

Tomorrow is our last Latin class and I must read my own rendering of one of the poems we already translated in class. I am leaning towards one by Ovid called �Love in the Afternoon�, but which I would rather rename �Afternoon Delight� after Herr Doktor Professor�s favourite piece of music ever composed. We will also hand in what we have translated to date of our children�s stories, and Patsy is bringing juice and strawberries, and one of our classmates who works at a bakery/deli is bringing chocolatines and other bready things. It should be fun.

Now I must call my mom to wish her a happy birthday, finish up my verb synopses and get to work on my poem. Toodles.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>