Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Have you seen the price of gas lately?

Saturday, May 10, 2008
10:11 p.m.
Buddy Boy didn’t call in the wee hours, which is probably a good thing. He ended up phoning mid-morning to let us know he had arrived safely and made all his connections with no mishaps. Hubby was quite relieved to get the news, as was I.

We’re having a barbecue tomorrow. Hubby has invited his trio, plus the drummer’s girlfriend (whose birthday it is today), and Little Princess has invited her BF. The drummer is bringing lobsters to do on the grill. Apparently they have to be boiled first, alive, and that just doesn’t go well with me. I asked if he couldn’t hit them over the head first before dropping them in the pot, but apparently that’s not the way it’s done. I have told him he may do this in my kitchen, but I won’t be there. I knew there was a reason I wasn’t keen on crustaceans and molluscs.

Hubby and I took back all the beer bottles that had been accumulating in the garage (89 of them) plus the bag where I dump pop bottles and cans. We shopped for supplies and after supper I made a multi-bean salad and half a tabouleh. I’ll finish it up tomorrow and make potato salad, too. These are, of course, from my favourite cookbook, M00sew00d. I have never found better recipes anywhere. We also bought a cherry pie to serve garnished with vanilla bean ice cream. It is Mother’s Day, after all, and I shouldn’t be required to do all the work.

Which reminds me, we still have to clean up our flower beds and rake last fall’s leaves from the stones around the house. Being a homeowner is a drag. It’s almost as bad as being a grownup.



|

<~~~ * ~~~>