Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

�How to be a Whore�

Friday, Feb. 10, 2006
8:55 a.m.
The evil technology beast was subdued today, as I installed the correct screen font on the computer in Hubby�s office, and I was able to print those parts I spoke about yesterday, with one exception. This was a really ancient music copying program. I have actually forgotten how to use it, even though I used to work with it all the time. The down-bow markings had to be replaced as the font I used to make them did not seem to be present (that wasn�t so bad, actually, just tedious), although the up-bows were perfectly fine. I don�t understand this. Each page of score was saved as a separate document (I think in a later version of the program, the one that no longer works on my SE, one could save multiple-page documents, but I hadn�t done that in this case), so I had to print them out separately. In every single case, the last page of each part would not open and caused the program to quit. Every single one. So the parts are mostly complete and I will have to recopy page nine. Actually, it will be a project of mine to recopy all of it into FinaIe�. Very strange.

(Here is a note for drgeek: I spoke to one of my colleagues who does arrangements for the jazz ensemble on the PC in the music tutors office, and he uses Enc0re, a copying program that allows playback. He seems to be happy with it for his limited purpose.)

After completing this task, I sat around in the lobby and waited for one of my colleagues to join me for lunch, discussing with some students the state of the campus newspaper. Apparently there are entirely too many articles lauding the country-club style of life for which Bushop�s is known. After perusing the paper myself, I have to disagree. Most of the pieces have to do with sports, campus events, community things (there was a nice article about the volunteer fireman who is also the town barber), and the only reason it looks like the sleazier side of university life is glorified is because these pieces, with headlines like �How to be a Whore� just sort of jump out at you. Personally, I don�t really care. I hardly ever read the campus paper anyway.

Then FP and I went for lunch (2:30 is late for lunch), and I went home afterwards, played on the internet, had a nap, and now I�m looking forward to a concert with a jazz singer at the department tonight. She�s giving masterclasses tomorrow afternoon, which will be interesting.

Hubby and Buddy Boy arrived safely at my in-laws� last night. I got a call at almost 1 a.m. (I was asleep) as I had requested, so I could relax.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>