Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Sevens all round!

Saturday, Jul. 7, 2007
8:55 p.m.
Wow. It’s July 7, 2007, falling on a Saturday, which makes it 7/7/7/7. I like that.

...and then there’s that whole thing about me hating things loud, especially things that are amplified electronically. There were, I admit, a few moments in the concert on Thursday night when I had to cover my ears, and we were far away from the stage. Last night, however, we (Hubby, Little Princess, her BF and I) went to Le Magog where Kevin O’s band was previewing the set they’re playing at the Lac des Nations fireworks festival next week.

It’s an interesting mix of people. Kevin on drums, an ex-Hell’s on trumpet (and trying to sing like Satchmo), Mario “The Tulip” on alto sax, Danny Somebody on bass, this very beautiful young man on guitar and keyboard and some vocals (Kevin’s ex [whom we met] said that he has the face of an angel), and another guy whose name I never learned on rhythm guitar doing an Elvis imitation. They started off at a volume I could handle, playing quite a few old favourites (à la Satchmo, Elvis and others), but I noticed the sound guy fiddling with the board throughout, adjusting dials and knobs, and ever so slightly and surreptitiously pushing up the levels. By the time they started the second set, I thought my ears were going to start bleeding. So we left. It was past midnight anyway.

The owner of the bar who was serving drinks behind the counter, is also a (former or not) Hell’s. I remember seeing him and his wife and son at the bar where the Australian band was playing a couple of weeks ago (and where Hubby’s trio plays next Tuesday), and he’s impossible not to remember. Shaved bald, he has a cranial ridge and a large hooked nose, his arms are tattooed with thick, dark spirals. His wife looks like a biker’s woman, rather petite and wearing tight jeans and a top that shows off her ample cleavage. She was taking tickets at the door and marking x’s on customers’ hands. Their son looks like he is too young to be in a bar, taking after his father with the hatchet face, and his head shaved except for one strip down the middle, Mohawk style.

This afternoon I attended a vernissage at the art gallery. The art was definitely sketchy. The food was fantastic.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>