Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Waste not, want not.

Tuesday, Apr. 13, 2004
11:41 a.m.
My second entry of the day, and I�ve stumbled onto a new can of worms. My good friend Harri3tspy has started a whole new controversy, I bet, with her comments on abortion. I can see that my plan of cross-fertilization between diaries is happening with a vengeance. Next time I�d better just not say anything.

Anyway, we�re talking pro-choice vs. pro-life here, and I have to put in my two cents� worth, I just have to. Personally I would not have an abortion unless there was no doubt that the child would not live (as in a Taysachs baby) or if it meant I were going to die by carrying to term and delivering. But who am I to tell other people what to do? Morally I am against abortions, but in the real world shit happens.

What it comes down to is that people have abortions for whatever reason. They have been having them for a long time and they will continue to have them. There is nothing I nor any pro-lifers can do that will change that fact. Period. What is important is that if an abortion is performed, it be done in a hospital or clinic equipped to deal with such a procedure, by a licenced practitioner. The only thing that pro-lifers will succeed to do if they have their way is force women to go to �back-street butchers� to end pregnancies, which will ultimately result in more suffering and possible deaths. A woman should not be forced to carry through an unwanted pregnancy, especially if it means that the future of the resulting baby is compromised. Every child deserves the best shot that life can give him, and being born to a crack-addicted, prostitution-supported, poverty-level woman is not an especially auspicious beginning for any person.

Relating all this back to the vegetarian debate, I myself choose not to have abortions (not that it�s ever been an issue, but you know what I mean). But I do not dictate how others act in the same way that I do not eat meat, but I will wear the leather that is a result of steak and prime-rib production.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>