Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Woke up, it was a Chelsea morning�

Saturday, Apr. 10, 2004
10:47 p.m.
Here I am again, fingers glued to this keyboard, getting another fix of my addiction. We just got back from the jazz ensemble concert, which was absolutely terrible. No, I�m not kidding, it sucked. The �downstairs band� played first, and the two string players were out of tune, the bass was too loud, and the improvs just sort of meandered. The �upstairs band� played after a brief pause, and they were even worse. Six, count �em, alto saxophones played out of tune, the trumpet player was gawdawful, the flute was out of tune (although I know she meant well), and once again the bass was too loud. The vocalists were bad, and towards the end I was getting so sleepy that I nearly dozed off. If anyone who was actually in the concert reads this, I apologize if I�ve hurt your feelings. But I gotta be honest here. Man, it was brutal!

Immediately afterwards the students were striking up a cabaret in the lobby, but we didn�t stay. We�d heard enough bad music for one night. The theme for the cabaret was The Sixties, and all these kids were dressed in what they thought was sixties clothing. It wasn�t. I was only 13 when the sixties ended, but I remember what people wore. Retro only goes so far.

So, I�m off to bed. I can�t even muster up any energy to see who�s winning in the hockey game, not that I�m a fan at the best of times. And so the curtain closes on a portrait of today; I will bring you incense owls at night, by candlelight, by jewel-light, if only you will stay.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>