Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Hurrah, it�s winter again!

Monday, Apr. 5, 2004
8:21 a.m.
Right, just when you thought it was safe to take off your snow tires, which only really stupid people do around here at this time, we get dumped on with a load of white shit. Yes folks, I have been making up a song to be sung to the tune of California Dreaming:

All the snow was gone,
and the roads were dry;
some kids were wearing shorts,
don�t ask me why.
The wind began to rise
and the temp�rature to drop;
the white stuff started falling,
won�t it ever stop?

Okay, that was pretty lame, I admit it. I was at the choir concert again last night, and it went better than the previous nights. I understand that Saturday was a near fiasco, and for that reason alone I generally stay away from second performances, having experienced enough of them myself. Hubby and I were invited to the party afterwards, and were going to make an appearance when one of his students nabbed him just as we were leaving the building, and we ended up spending the next 45 minutes in the computer-music studio as he tried to get her piece to work. By the time we got out it was really late, after midnight on a school night, and so we just went home. But the snow had started falling earlier in the evening, and everything was covered. This happens every year. The poor robins always arrive to be greeted by more frigid weather. Winter�s last hurrah, I call it.

Fannie told me a good story. Yesterday afternoon there was a concert at Centennial Theatre, a string quartet and pianist, and right after the intermission they were playing the Shostakovich quintet when smoke started pouring out of the ceiling of the theatre. They quickly evaculated, and the quartet finished playing the concert in the lobby, but without the pianist. It turns out that one of the ceiling lights had set a wooden acoustic panel on fire. Quite the excitement.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>