Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

Entry No. 2 for today

Tuesday, Feb. 3, 2004
12:28 p.m.
I am not pleased. The way I had made up my teaching schedule, Tuesday was left as my free day to do my shopping, my laundry, catch up on stuff around the house or fritter away on the internet, as I pleased. But yesterday morning, before I left for work, my 11:30 student called to say he couldn�t come on Mondays anymore (after I had switched him from Wednesday) because he is doing student teaching at a highschool out of town. Fine. I can�t fit him in on Wednesday because he�s student teaching that day too. Thursday is already filled up with students, unless he wants to come at 9:30 (which isn�t my idea of fun, either), so I suggested 11:00 on Tuesday, because it is sandwiched nicely between two of his classes, leaving him room to get to and from, even in the event we go overtime.

I myself got to campus just before 11:00 this morning, since I had washed my coat (it�s white and was covered in schmutz from the outside of the car) and it wasn�t out of the dryer until 10:40 (but it was so nice and warm!). I found a parking spot on my second pass, and arrived in time to go through my vocal warmups. My student never arrived. Period. I continued to practice (some Vivaldi, a little Mozart), but no student. I finally gave up, went to the part-time teachers office and called him, leaving a message on his machine so that he would know in no uncertain terms that I was not happy, and that he should call me. This is the guy who calls me �Mom� all the time.

So I am venting a little spleen here. It�s not that a student missing a lesson is that unusual; it�s just that I rearranged my life for this guy, giving up my precious Tuesday for him, and he doesn�t show! Depending on how I feel about him at marks time, his may suffer.

|

<~~~ * ~~~>