Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

The concert�s over�

Thursday, Jan. 15, 2004
11:29 p.m.
It is so cold (aren�t you getting tired of how I�m starting all my entries with commentary on the temperature) that the hot water pipe leading to the kitchen sink is frozen. I can�t put the dishwasher on, or get hot water out of the tap for dishwashing until it thaws. Why the hot water pipe, you�re asking? Well, it�s like this. The pipes travel underneath the kitchen floor from the hot water tank, bend at the outside wall, then up to the sink. The hot water pipe is on the left, right next to the vent for the dryer. I haven�t used the dryer for a few days, mostly because I�m trying to conserve electricity, so it has been drawing in the frigid air from outside, and so the surrounding air is colder too. That explains it. I thought maybe I could thaw it with a hair dryer, but we have boxes piled up against the wall and I can�t get at it. So instead I wet a towel, put it in the dryer and turned it on at high heat. So far no results, but I keep running downstairs to check.

The concert tonight was extremely poorly attended. Pauline told me they did the same programme in Sudbury and got about 80 people, and at Redpath Hall in Montreal on Monday they had about 40. Tonight we had 10 in the audience, including Etienne�s parents. This is why Hubby and I think we should let Musica Nova die. There�s just no response in the area. Partly we could blame the weather, and there was an accident on the bridge, so some people might have despaired of making it to the concert on time and gone home. But I think our good neighbours just don�t relish new music, that�s all. We always had a hard time getting an audience. This is no different.

They played first a duet for oboe and clarinet that was actually quite nice. I forgot to bring a programme home, and I�ve forgotten the name of the composer. Then Pauline played Wings by Joan Tower for solo clarinet. It was rather beautiful, to be honest, if a bit long. But there were moments when my hyperaccusis was assaulted rather severely, particularly when she would trill between two notes that were actually a third apart, and it set up a harmonic buzzing. Then came Six Bagatelles for oboe, clarinet and bassoon by Mario Turmel, a Sherbrooke composer. This piece was not a success, in my opinion, partly because they needed a conductor. Really! Also, there were some very tense hyperaccusis moments. After the pause Etienne played a piece for solo oboe called Piri by an ex-pat Korean composer which was again too long, and they finished off with 8 Etudes and 1 Fantasy by Elliot Carter, a piece dating from 1950. Not exactly �new� music.

By the way, I finally practised today, the first time in almost a month. I don�t sound as terrible as I thought I would, which was a pleasant surprise. I�ve finally got my teaching schedule organized, and it would be nice if I could demonstrate for my little songbirds without sounding like a raven or a turkey (or worse). Hubby is trying to organize a mini concert at the CUMS conference in Lethbridge this spring, and if it�s accepted, we�ll have to start rehearsing again. So, I guess I�d better get back to work on the Rossini. Just when you thought it was safe to go back into the studio�

|

<~~~ * ~~~>