Elgan speaks
...and her words thunder across the land

An aimless and rambling musing about the virtues of good-looking men, including men who are not men.

Sunday, Nov. 30, 2003
9:23 a.m.
One of the funny things about having a locked diary is that every time I want to read my own diary, I have to go through the whole username/password business. And even though I have instructed my computer to remember the password, it�s still a bit of a surprise every time the dialogue box comes up.

I just love Jenn�s manformation. That�s pretty nifty. Not all of us female types would look good sporting a beard and moustache. Mind you, I have always wanted a moustache, one I could twirl. I was so envious when Son started growing his fairy moustache, and so disappointed when he started shaving it off. Drat. Well, there�s hope for me yet, right? Fewer than 10 years �till menopause, I figure, and then I can start growing all the facial hair I want!

Speaking of facial hair, what did you think of that braided beard on Johnny Depp in Pirates of the Carribbean? Wow, what a hunk! You know, he was in North Hatley this fall filming something, and so many ladies I know took a drive into town just to get a glimpse of this incredibly good-looking male specimen. Apparently he was really nice too, giving autographs, actually letting lesser mortals within speaking and touching range. What a guy! Now, if Viggo Mortensen were coming to town, I would be there in a flash!

Speaking of Viggo Mortensen (am I spelling that right?), I saw a trailer for a movie he�s in about a legendary horse race across the Sahara. It�s supposed to be based on a true story. He�s a real honey. Yessiree. Which reminds me, when Depp was in North Hatley, I saw a side of the Duchess which had hitherto gone unexposed. She�s a movie-star groupie! My dear friend the Duchess, 53 years old, mother of teenagers, wife of a musicologist, university organist, church organist and choir leader, former grade one teacher, teacher of potential teachers, has crushes on Johnny Depp, Viggo Mortensen, and I have no idea who else. She does internet searches on the objects of her affection (even I never thought of that!), and talks about them, even in the presence of her long-suffering husband, who I�m sure, doesn�t know what to make of this adolescent behaviour. Very funny. Even when all my girlfriends were reading Seventeen Magazine when we were teenagers, I never got involved in that kind of fantasy. Maybe I had just a little more grounding in reality than they did, knowing that whoever was the current heartthrob of the day would never be encountered in my daily walk of life, and what did it matter if he was single or not when he was so obviously unattainable? But I guess a girl has to dream, right?

But since we are on the subject of good-looking men, it is my dearest one�s 45th birthday today. I have planned a very nice dinner at home for him and the fruit of our loins: barbecued salmon steaks, hot buttered orzo, salad, and carrot cake for dessert. Yesterday I reduced my carrot cake recipe down to the lowest egg denominator, which means 1/4 of a cake; today I�ll ice it with an equal reduction of cream cheese icing, stick a few candles in it, and we have a birthday cake! Carrot cake is his favourite.

I went through the recipe with a calculator and calorie counter, and deduced that one eighth of one quarter of the recipe is 350 calories. That�s my lunch allotment right there! And of course, that�s just a small square of cake. Most people would have a piece twice that size or more. No wonder obesity is such a problem in America. Just look at the size of servings out there, and the kind of �snack� foods available to the average consumer. The other day in the supermarket they were giving out samples of carrot cake, with cream cheese icing, neatly wrapped in individual servings of (I hazard a guess here) approximately 200 calories apiece. You buy them in a box or bag, put them in your kids� lunches, or take them to work yourself, scarf a few with a cup of tea or coffee for breakfast,� the possibilities are endless! I had a sample, I must confess, and it was very tasty. But I am determined to get thin, so don�t put any fat-filled obstacles in my way!

|

<~~~ * ~~~>